The Hall was built circa 1600 by lawyer George Fell. After his death it was passed down to his son and his wife, Judge Thomas Fell and his wife Margaret. In 1652, George Fox, the founder of Quakerism, visited their home. Margaret Fell heard his ministry and was convinced along with most of her household. After Thomas Fell died in 1658 she ran Swarthmoor Hall as a centre of Quaker activity and haven from persecution.
You can visit the Hall and immerse yourself in what would have been the life of the Fells at the time. All rooms have been restored and display life in the 1650s.
Today, the Hall remains a significant location for Quaker history. Many Quakers come from all over the world to attend courses, retreats or pilgrimages. The latter take pilgrims to neighbouring places of significance, such as Pendle Hill and Firbank Fell, in what is known as the “1652 Country”.
Guests can stay in one of the 14 on-site rooms and suites (some are accessible). An aisle of the Hall has been refurbished and transformed into beautiful bedrooms, while neighbouring buildings have been transformed into spacious suites. Self-catering or bed and breakfast basis are available, not forgetting the delicious Barn Café, open throughout the day. The café serves delicious food, inspired by local ingredients.